Welcome to the EGGhead Forum - a great place to visit and packed with tips and EGGspert advice! You can also join the conversation and get more information and amazing kamado recipes by following Big Green Egg to Experience our World of Flavor™ at:
Facebook  |  Twitter  |  Instagram  |  Pinterest  |  Youtube  |  Vimeo
Share your photos by tagging us and using the hashtag #BigGreenEgg.

Want to see how the EGG is made? Click to Watch

Shredded pork tenderloin?

KingRover
KingRover Posts: 115
edited January 2012 in EggHead Forum

Hello everyone, I am a rookie that really appreciates the discussions on this forum. My wife wants to make this recipe for roast pork with noodles, I am in charge of the pork.

Recipe calls for 1/2 pound pork tenderloin, trimmed (I have a 2 lb tenderloin), baked at 425 for 20 minutes, flipped once; after rest, recipes says "shred pork into small pieces."

I was planning on cooking direct, under the felt line (I don't have a raised grid) at about 375 dome until pork temp hits 140. Should I get some fire bricks to raise the grid?

Does pork tenderloin shred? I have had it sliced before, but have never heard of shredded pork tenderloin.

I also don't have a remote thermometer. I was planning on taking the temp with a probe after 30 minutes or so. Combined with turning the pork every 10 minutes or so, is continually opening and closing the lid going to be a bad thing?

Thanks for the help!

Comments

• gdenby
    gdenby Posts: 6,239
    A direct cook of a piece of pork tenderloin will go pretty quickly, possibly less than 30 minutes, with a couple of turns. They don't have much fat, and are easy to burn. I'd keep some basting sauce at hand.

Raising the grill will help some, but direct cooks are hot. Not at all like an oven. The side facing the coals at the raised position is close to 600F.

I did sausage that was frozen last night, on a raised grill, direct, and it took 25 min., tops.