Welcome to the EGGhead Forum - a great place to visit and packed with tips and EGGspert advice! You can also join the conversation and get more information and amazing kamado recipes by following Big Green Egg to Experience our World of Flavor™ at:
Facebook  |  Twitter  |  Instagram  |  Pinterest  |  Youtube  |  Vimeo
Share your photos by tagging us and using the hashtag #BigGreenEgg.

Want to see how the EGG is made? Click to Watch

My Recycled Table is now an Island!

Options
tfoutch
tfoutch Posts: 76
edited December 2011 in EGG Table Forum

I started with an old 2" tubular industrial table on big casters someone gave me years ago.  Made panels from some old doors from a remodel I did for my inlaws (House build in 1920's).  Poured concrete top.  Planed to make table for one egg, but decided to add for the second since table was so big.  This is my first attempt at pouring concrete, so a lot of extra work to make them look good. 

Ready for paint now.  Will post more pics as I progress.

By the way (weigh) - 560# concrete, table 150#, two large BGE and some doors and shelving - I'm thinking this thing will finish at around 1000 #. 

See pics so far at the URL below

photobucket.com/greeneggtable

TFOUTCH Algood, Tennessee

Comments

• maxPowers
    Options
    Table looks great! How hard was it to pour your own concrete?
  • Smoker_Guru
    Options
    Nice table, can't wait to see it finished...
  • tfoutch
    Options

My advice on concrete..."It's not hard if you know what you're doing".  I troweled too early and too often.  Messed up the finish relly bad.  Called for help.  We top-coated with a Portland cement mixture while it was still a little green.  I think it will turn out nice, but I have WAAAY more hours in labor than it should have taken.  This is my first slab EVER for anything bigger than a mailbox footing.