Welcome to the EGGhead Forum - a great place to visit and packed with tips and EGGspert advice! You can also join the conversation and get more information and amazing kamado recipes by following Big Green Egg to Experience our World of Flavor™ at:
Facebook  |  Twitter  |  Instagram  |  Pinterest  |  Youtube  |  Vimeo
Share your photos by tagging us and using the hashtag #BigGreenEgg.

Want to see how the EGG is made? Click to Watch

New to the Forum

Options
smokesniffer
smokesniffer Posts: 2,016
edited December 2011 in EggHead Forum
Helo everyone. Newbie here. Have had my large egg for about two weeks now. I know I am going to love it, but it does take some getting used too. Patience is also part of the learning curve. I have cooked a few meals on the egg so far: burgers, they do taste juicier than my gasser. We have done a few different types of pizza, one night I had a frustrating time trying to get the egg up to about 500 and hold it there. I was all over the place. How should one go about stabilizing the temperature on the egg. Do you damper down before hitting the required temp or do you heat your mark and then throttle back. I have heard of both ways working. That would be one question if someone has the time to answer, I will now be able to surf the forum in more detail, (I believe being a member has its privileges) We did one slo and low pork butts. Cooked a 3 lb. butt (what to test the water before going and destroying a lot of meat) and we did it for about 7 hours at 250. Removed it and when we went to pull it apart, it seems very tough to do. Went ahead away and continued pulling it. Taste was ok, but I thought that it would just kind of fall apart. Did I need to cook it longer?? What am I missing here. Thanks for any help. This is going to be a good time, once we get our kinks out.
Family from out of town is here for the next while, and want to do a few things on the Egg for them.
Large, small, and a mini

Comments

• The Naked Whiz