Welcome to the EGGhead Forum - a great place to visit and packed with tips and EGGspert advice! You can also join the conversation and get more information and amazing kamado recipes by following Big Green Egg to Experience our World of Flavor™ at:
Facebook  |  Twitter  |  Instagram  |  Pinterest  |  Youtube  |  Vimeo
Share your photos by tagging us and using the hashtag #BigGreenEgg.

Want to see how the EGG is made? Click to Watch

Ribs - Smoking wood and ribs questions

Trouble
Trouble Posts: 276
edited November -1 in EggHead Forum
I want to cook some ribs for a neighbor this weekend who is deliberating about a BGE purchase. I like my ribs just fine, but want to take it to the next level and I have never used any smoking wood before (can you believe that?--2 years of egging and no smoke!). The JSlot method, I believe, mentions hickory--not soaked, while an adaptation mentions Jack Daniels barrel wood--soaked. The questions are:
1. What are the mechanics in making the decision to soak or not soak?
2. What wood would best complement a mustard/DP Rub preparation?
3. There is a flap of meat that makes it hard to remove all the membrane. The flap is at one end of the slab and looks like a triangular blob of extra stuff. Is this supposed to be cut off?[p]Thanks, all you geniuses, for making me look so good! Time to push my neighbor off the fence, and have some really great ribs in the process.
Trouble

Comments

• Mark Backer
    Mark Backer Posts: 1,018