Big Green Egg - EGGhead Forum - The Ultimate Cooking Experience...
Who’s ready for football and tailgating? We are! Check out our tailgating page for recipes that are great to bring to a tailgate, or cook at home if you’re entertaining friends during a game. If you need an easy breakfast recipe, these Sticky Buns are the way to go. If you’re looking for a fan favorite with bacon, try these Double Pork Sliders. We can’t wait to kick off another fall full of tasty food!

Coming to Atlanta for EGGtoberfest? Big Green Egg headquarters has moved - come visit our new showroom and check out the museum and culinary center too! 3786 DeKalb Technology Parkway, Atlanta, GA 30340 - NOTE we are CLOSED on Saturday OCT 10th for EGGtoberfest.

Thermometer Question

snook76snook76 Posts: 4
edited 12:30PM in EggHead Forum
Hello - I'm new to the BGE and to the forum. I cooked on the egg for the first time and everything went well - although it took me a while to a) get the fire started and b)get the temperature right. Anyhow, it really does make some good food.

I have a question about the thermometer. It doesn't appear to be working after the first cook. This morning the temperature was reading 0 degree farenheit - where as before it would sit at room temperature. I checked the calibration before my first cook (with boiling water) and it performed spot on but now seems to have gone wrong.

Is there some trick to these things? anyway that I can get this fixed or am I stuck with having to get a new one?

Thanks in advance for any replies.

• B&BKnoxB&BKnox Posts: 281
    check calibration again in boiling water, if off small pliers on the screw on the back of the thermo then turning will move the dial to the correct position. How old is your egg? mine has a newer tel-tru thermometer and it starts at 150, so it always reads the same unless cooking.
    Be Well

Knoxville TN