Welcome to the EGGhead Forum - a great place to visit and packed with tips and EGGspert advice! You can also join the conversation and get more information and amazing kamado recipes by following Big Green Egg to Experience our World of Flavor™ at:
Facebook  |  Twitter  |  Instagram  |  Pinterest  |  Youtube  |  Vimeo
Share your photos by tagging us and using the hashtag #BigGreenEgg.

Want to see how the EGG is made? Click to Watch

Thermometer Question

snook76
snook76 Posts: 4
edited November -1 in EggHead Forum
Hello - I'm new to the BGE and to the forum. I cooked on the egg for the first time and everything went well - although it took me a while to a) get the fire started and b)get the temperature right. Anyhow, it really does make some good food.

I have a question about the thermometer. It doesn't appear to be working after the first cook. This morning the temperature was reading 0 degree farenheit - where as before it would sit at room temperature. I checked the calibration before my first cook (with boiling water) and it performed spot on but now seems to have gone wrong.

Is there some trick to these things? anyway that I can get this fixed or am I stuck with having to get a new one?

Thanks in advance for any replies.

Comments

• B&BKnox
    B&BKnox Posts: 283
    check calibration again in boiling water, if off small pliers on the screw on the back of the thermo then turning will move the dial to the correct position. How old is your egg? mine has a newer tel-tru thermometer and it starts at 150, so it always reads the same unless cooking.
    Be Well

Knoxville TN
  • I have a new egg as of Father's Day, and I did calibrate my thermometer also. I have experienced same thing you did--once or twice on start up, the thermometer was not rising during startup. My needle was stuck, I could open the lid and shut it with firmly, or just flick thermometer face, and it cured it. I do note I have never overheated it--have not gone over 700 to 750 so far.