Welcome to the EGGhead Forum - a great place to visit and packed with tips and EGGspert advice! You can also join the conversation and get more information and amazing kamado recipes by following Big Green Egg to Experience our World of Flavor™ at:
Facebook  |  Twitter  |  Instagram  |  Pinterest  |  Youtube  |  Vimeo
Share your photos by tagging us and using the hashtag #BigGreenEgg.

Want to see how the EGG is made? Click to Watch

ever grilled avocado? did it dry out?

deepsouth
deepsouth Posts: 1,796
edited November -1 in EggHead Forum
i've been grilling avocados for a couple months now and i'm really loving them. recently, someone saw me grill one and told me they thought it just dried it out and ruined it. said he cooked it direct for only 5 minutes. he was cooking it with chicken, so i'll assume he wasn't at 600+ degrees, rather in the mid 300's....

i'd appreciate anyone's thoughts and/or opinions.

thanks in advance.

Comments

• crghc98
    crghc98 Posts: 1,006
    how do you grill them? I would think split them in half and only grill for a short time????
  • deepsouth
    crghc98 wrote:
    how do you grill them? I would think split them in half and only grill for a short time????

that's it.... cut in half, peel or don't peel. i season with olive oil and salt and pepper or dp shakin the tree and let it stay on until it warms. maybe five minutes, depending on the temp.
  • crghc98
    crghc98 Posts: 1,006
    "said he cooked it direct for only 50 minutes."

I'm thinking the chicken was dry too :laugh:

Assume that meant 5 minutes. maybe the Avocado itself wasn't ripe or in prime shape?
  • thirdeye
    thirdeye Posts: 7,428
    DSC07644a.jpg

I think 50 minutes is way too long. I've done them for 2 or 3 minutes with a really hot fire, but usually cook them at lower temps until they are warmed through or until they have a nice look to 'em.