Welcome to the EGGhead Forum - a great place to visit and packed with tips and EGGspert advice! You can also join the conversation and get more information and amazing kamado recipes by following Big Green Egg to Experience our World of Flavor™ at:
Facebook  |  Twitter  |  Instagram  |  Pinterest  |  Youtube  |  Vimeo
Share your photos by tagging us and using the hashtag #BigGreenEgg.

Want to see how the EGG is made? Click to Watch

Why Egg?

Options
Unknown
edited November -1 in EggHead Forum
Hopefully this is not a dumb question, BUT.. Can someone give me a good reason to spend the money for a BGE? I currently have 2 Weber’s for grilling and I also use a big side box smoker. All Charcoal of course - No Gas![p]I make my own rubs & sauces so I am not a novice to the grill / smoker world.[p]Seriously, how can I justify the cost? How can the BGE cook that much better? Serious reply’s only. Thanks. Rick

Comments

• Rick Hagan,
    I am not the Egg guru here, but I can tell you that owning an Egg is an adventure. First of all, it can do so many things. I too have had grilling experiences for a long time. I have a huge wood fired open pitt with a stainless dome. This grill can do two whole hogs at one time. I made my own gasser which worked very well. It is now rusting. I have had several cheap weekend grills.They are in a dump somewhere. I have done bar b q's for 4 people and as many as 150. So I have some background of cooking.
    The Egg uses lump charcoal which is very efficient. Compared to briques, it is much cheaper and it doesn't have trash in it like briques. The Egg has a life time warrantee. It can do a low and slow cook with one load of lump for over 30 hours. Or, it can sear a steak at 700 degrees in short order. It is fun to play with learning new technics. I guess that is enough said. One more thing is this forum is very helpful to those that do not understand the Egg. [p] Chef Jerry
    Irmo, South Carolina

• BlueSmoke
    BlueSmoke Posts: 1,678