Welcome to the EGGhead Forum - a great place to visit and packed with tips and EGGspert advice! You can also join the conversation and get more information and amazing kamado recipes by following Big Green Egg to Experience our World of Flavor™ at:
Facebook  |  Twitter  |  Instagram  |  Pinterest  |  Youtube  |  Vimeo
Share your photos by tagging us and using the hashtag #BigGreenEgg.

Want to see how the EGG is made? Click to Watch

Chef Or Cook: What Are You ?

Pork Butt Mike
Pork Butt Mike Posts: 2,584
edited November -1 in EggHead Forum
IMHO

I been on here for some time now and met a lot of great people. I would never consider my self or call my self a chef but I like to think I am a pretty decent Cook. I have learned so much from so many of you threw out the years and I Thank You all for that.

The point I am trying to get across is don't ever believe every thing your read and if not sure then ask and get different opinions. I do have a problem with someone coming on here calling them selfs a Chef and trying to teach, which will get someone seriously hurt or sick.

Comments

• Kailas
    Kailas Posts: 146
    I'm a Cheok. Part Chef, part Cook.
  • Fidel
    Fidel Posts: 10,172
    There are a lot of people that frequent this board that are self-proclaimed "experts" on a number of topics. Everyone should just use common sense when reading the information here and if something doesn't seem right then verify the accuracy of any information they read here by examining outside sources and drawing their own conclusions.
  • FSM-Meatball
    FSM-Meatball Posts: 215
    A little of both.

But here is how I define the difference-

A Cook can take a recipe and replicate it. Can cook things that they have learned about and have done before.

A Chef is someone that creates new recipes from scratch and can modify and change existing ones to create something new.
  • YB
    YB Posts: 3,861
    I am just a plain backyard cook Mike but I have fun doing it.

Larry
  • egret