Welcome to the EGGhead Forum - a great place to visit and packed with tips and EGGspert advice! You can also join the conversation and get more information and amazing kamado recipes by following Big Green Egg to Experience our World of Flavor™ at:
Facebook  |  Twitter  |  Instagram  |  Pinterest  |  Youtube  |  Vimeo
Share your photos by tagging us and using the hashtag #BigGreenEgg.

Want to see how the EGG is made? Click to Watch

First time Butt roast- advice please

Kailas
Kailas Posts: 146
edited November -1 in EggHead Forum
Ok, my DigiQ DX II is set to arrive this evening, so I'm planning on breaking it in on a butt roast. My wife and I purchased a large boneless butt roast from Costco a while back and she cut it in thirds. I know.... not the best idea, but since this is my first try I'm going to take the 2 that are left and roast them on the BGE.

What I need is a good recipe and prep (marinade, rub, etc) and cooking instructions.

It took me 4 tries to get my Baby Back ribs perfect, and I'd like to cut my learning curve down on this.

Anyone have some good ideas?

Comments

• Scottborasjr
    Scottborasjr Posts: 3,494
    There are probably as many answers to this question as there are people who own smokers/eggs/grills. What kind of result are you looking for? Pulled pork, Chopped pork, sliced pork, etc? How big are the remaining pieces of meat? What kind of flavor are you looking for, BBQ, oven roasted, oriental, spicy, etc.
    I raise my kids, cook and golf.  When work gets in the way I'm pissed, I'm pissed off 48 weeks a year.
    Inbetween Iowa and Colorado, not close to anything remotely entertaining outside of football season. 
  • Kailas
    Scottborasjr wrote: