Welcome to the EGGhead Forum - a great place to visit and packed with tips and EGGspert advice! You can also join the conversation and get more information and amazing kamado recipes by following Big Green Egg to Experience our World of Flavor™ at:
Facebook  |  Twitter  |  Instagram  |  Pinterest  |  Youtube  |  Vimeo
Share your photos by tagging us and using the hashtag #BigGreenEgg.

Want to see how the EGG is made? Click to Watch

Meat Grinders

Options
EGGARY
EGGARY Posts: 1,222
edited November -1 in EggHead Forum
I ordered the STX Turboforce 3000 on Amazon today.

How many here grind their own meat ? I know I will be able to grind meat for hamburgers. What kind of "blends" will I be able to make and/or what cuts of meats make good burgers ? What else can I do with the Grinder ?

Thanks.

Gary

Comments

• ranger ray
    ranger ray Posts: 812
    Options
    i have been grinding my own meat for 35 years..... started with a hand crank..... then bought a little "oster" model..... now i have a one horsepower cabela's grinder...u can used the grinder to stuff sausage.... make hamburger patties...run a meat cuber.... and i use a jerky slicer for it too..... there 's nothing like making freshly ground meats.... i grind deer.... beef .... pork.... chicken and turkey....i like ground chuck for burgers.... i grind pork and some beef for stuffed cabbages( referred to as "halupki's" around here the nepa coal region..... i also have a motorized 30 pound stuffer.... and a 30 pound mixed..... most folks don't need that kind of "fire power"..... but if there's a cabela;s near you..... you can get things at a tremendous discount in the " bargain cave"....( folks return things) i suspect they buy it during hunting season.... use the gear and return the stuff after using it thereby avoiding the purchase of said equipment....i wish i would have bought heavy duty gear (could not afford it when i was a college kid)... it takes me more time to clean the gear than it does now that i h