Welcome to the EGGhead Forum - a great place to visit and packed with tips and EGGspert advice! You can also join the conversation and get more information and amazing kamado recipes by following Big Green Egg to Experience our World of Flavor™ at:
Facebook  |  Twitter  |  Instagram  |  Pinterest  |  Youtube  |  Vimeo
Share your photos by tagging us and using the hashtag #BigGreenEgg.

Want to see how the EGG is made? Click to Watch

Can't demo cook anymore

grillmandan
grillmandan Posts: 270
edited November -1 in EggHead Forum
I recently got cited by the local fire marshal for cooking on the Egg in front of my store. This is something I have been doing for 16 years.
The code he cited is NPFA, sec. 10.11.7
That states that I can't have a grill under an overhang or within 10 feet of any structure. This code looks to apply to residential dwellings, but he assured me that it applies to commercial. I am in a strip center, so the only place I can cook is in a valuable parking space. This effectively shuts down any demo cooking I do in front of my store.
Does anyone know where I can get a legal interpretation of the code?

Comments

• fire egger
    fire egger Posts: 1,124
    I am busily looking it up right now, what state are you in?
  • WessB
    WessB Posts: 6,937
    Thats BS...I hope you get some good legal advice and can fight it....things just aint what they used to be..and are certainly not the way they should be..
  • Scottborasjr
    Scottborasjr Posts: 3,494
    Just curious where you are at, I can assure you that there are thousands in your community that have a grill, probably gas, on a apartment deck which would obviously be in violation of said code. Did one of your offspring piss off the fire guy? ;):)

Hope you can get it figured out.
    I raise my kids, cook and golf.  When work gets in the way I'm pissed, I'm pissed off 48 weeks a year.
    Inbetween Iowa and Colorado, not close to anything remotely entertaining outside of football season.