Welcome to the EGGhead Forum - a great place to visit and packed with tips and EGGspert advice! You can also join the conversation and get more information and amazing kamado recipes by following Big Green Egg to Experience our World of Flavor™ at:
Facebook  |  Twitter  |  Instagram  |  Pinterest  |  Youtube  |  Vimeo
Share your photos by tagging us and using the hashtag #BigGreenEgg.

Want to see how the EGG is made? Click to Watch

Temperature Control- BGE Beginner

Options
eggheadbrown
eggheadbrown Posts: 61
edited November -1 in EggHead Forum
Hi Everyone,
I am a BGE Beginner and am stilling learning the basics. I have cooked a few steaks on the egg and had my first smoking experience with ribs last weekend (they turned out great). I am looking for some advice on temperature control.

I was told once I light my charcoal to leave the wheel off and bottom vent open until i see white/colorless smoke. When I did this for my ribs (cooking temp-250), it took me a couple of hours to bring the temperature back down to 250 (I burbed the egg a number of time but it didn't help much). I believe once I starting controlling temp, my egg was around 350/375.

What is the best way to deal with this?

Can I start controlling my temperature right away?

Any other temperature tips/suggestions would be appreciated.

Thank you,

Eggheadbrown

Comments

• stike
    stike Posts: 15,597
    Options
    when you light it, after you are sure your starter materials are going, shut the dome and roughly adjust the vents.

if you want it low, don't let it get roaring.