Welcome to the EGGhead Forum - a great place to visit and packed with tips and EGGspert advice! You can also join the conversation and get more information and amazing kamado recipes by following Big Green Egg to Experience our World of Flavor™ at:
Facebook  |  Twitter  |  Instagram  |  Pinterest  |  Youtube  |  Vimeo
Share your photos by tagging us and using the hashtag #BigGreenEgg.

Want to see how the EGG is made? Click to Watch

What is the highest temp u have ever gotten

Options
griff017
griff017 Posts: 4
edited November -1 in EggHead Forum
I am brand new to the EGG and just did my inaugural (sp?) cook on the egg tonight.

I made some pizza it was of course amazing even with that crappy Publix dough.

Soo, I filled her up with lump and opened all dampers all the way.

I came back in 40 minutes and saw that it was on 300ish degrees and thought that did not seem right.

I opened her up and of course got my first taste of backdraft and a melted gasket.

So anyways, if I can get up to 1000+? (all the way around 300) what temps can you reach when you are trying to get really high temps.

I really want to do this again but throw a steak on and aim a leafblower at the fire pit.

Will I crack the EGG, has anyone done this? What are some max temps people have hit?

-Ed

Comments

• stike
    stike Posts: 15,597
    Options
    Fishlessman fires pizza at 1100 regularly

I've seen the thermometer at 100 and thought the fire was out, but it was on it's second way around like yours was

1000+ is possible

But unless
    You are doing neapolitan pizza, you are just showing off
    ed egli avea del cul fatto trombetta -Dante
  • WessB
    WessB Posts: 6,937
    Options
    It's a grill..not a blast furnace...anything over 700° is just a waste of lump.....600 is about the extreme of my useful range..
  • Bacchus
    Bacchus Posts: 6,019
    Options
    I regularly cook pizza at 700ish, and haven't really gone much north of that.