Welcome to the EGGhead Forum - a great place to visit and packed with tips and EGGspert advice! You can also join the conversation and get more information and amazing kamado recipes by following Big Green Egg to Experience our World of Flavor™ at:
Facebook  |  Twitter  |  Instagram  |  Pinterest  |  Youtube  |  Vimeo
Share your photos by tagging us and using the hashtag #BigGreenEgg.

Want to see how the EGG is made? Click to Watch

Sunshine EggFest & my first question

Grillin' on Wheels
Grillin' on Wheels Posts: 11
edited November -1 in EggHead Forum
I'm a BGE rookie but I went to the Sunshine EggFest last weekend. What a GREAT experience for someone new. Everyone was helpful and I learned soooo much! Can't beat the ocean-side location and it the wood deck was particularly nice for someone in a wheelchair like me.

I do have a question, though. What do you do at the end of a bag of lump? I assume you don't dump all the dust into the egg, but do you leave the smallest pieces or pull them out by hand?

Once again, thanks to the Sunshine EggFest for a great weekend... look for me BEHIND an Egg next year.

Ken

Comments

• bobbyb
    bobbyb Posts: 1,349
    I pour my bag of lump into a plastic tub that is lined with wire mesh (rabbit wire). The fine stuff falls through leaving the usable lump on top.
  • Carolina Q
    Carolina Q Posts: 14,831
    I just dump the bag til it's empty. If I get some dust, so be it.

Welcome to the forum! Glad you enjoyed the fest - sure wish I could have been there! Sounds like everyone had a great time.

I hate it when I go to the kitchen for food and all I find are ingredients!                                                                                                                                                                                                                           

Michael 
    Central Connecticut 

• Pork Butt Mike
    Pork Butt Mike Posts: 2,584