Welcome to the EGGhead Forum - a great place to visit and packed with tips and EGGspert advice! You can also join the conversation and get more information and amazing kamado recipes by following Big Green Egg to Experience our World of Flavor™ at:
Facebook  |  Twitter  |  Instagram  |  Pinterest  |  Youtube  |  Vimeo
Share your photos by tagging us and using the hashtag #BigGreenEgg.

Want to see how the EGG is made? Click to Watch

Pizza Making Question

hayman
hayman Posts: 25
edited November -1 in EggHead Forum
First post guys, I am now an egghead..?? B)

I made my first pizza last night on the egg. It was a last minute decision and the girlfriend and I slapped some stuff together and egged. Turned out tasty.

Question, other then the lump wood coal do any of you put wood chunks in to add smoke flavor? Not sure at 500 to 600 degrees there will be any flavor added but I'm new at this and don't have much experience with what wood to use for what food. I've eaten at wood fired pizza places but never asked what wood they use.

Thanks for the help.

Bill

Comments

• Capt Frank
    Capt Frank Posts: 2,578
    Welcome Aboard hayman, your life is about to change! :) :laugh:
    I make a lot of pizzas and have never added smoking wood, so I really can't say.
    What we and many other enjoy is thinking up new toppings for our pies.
    Here is one with seafood.
    5464690259_06dafed0cd.jpg
    P2200011 by Capt Frank1, on Flickr
    5464691279_5688ccdc2e.jpg
    P2200015 by Capt Frank1, on Flickr
    Shrimp, bay scallops, spinach, onion, sweet peppers, italian cheeses, sun dried tomatos, and feta :) :ohmy: :P :cheer:
  • RRP
    RRP Posts: 25,880
    I never add wood, but that's a personal matter of taste. As for the wood kiln pizza places around here they only use a hot bed of coals which long before had given up any traces of smoke.
    Re-gasketing America one yard at a time.
  • Dimple's Mom
    Dimple's Mom Posts: 1,740