Welcome to the EGGhead Forum - a great place to visit and packed with tips and EGGspert advice! You can also join the conversation and get more information and amazing kamado recipes by following Big Green Egg to Experience our World of Flavor™ at:
Facebook  |  Twitter  |  Instagram  |  Pinterest  |  Youtube  |  Vimeo
Share your photos by tagging us and using the hashtag #BigGreenEgg.

Want to see how the EGG is made? Click to Watch

Bad steak

BarberEggHead
BarberEggHead Posts: 25
edited November -1 in EggHead Forum
Im a better barber than i am a cook lol. I bought a green egg and was so excited about finaly cooking that perfect steak. I had a sirloin med rare and it was tuff as jerky. My mom had a well done newyork strip well done and hers was tender "for a well done stake it was tender". Is it possible to buy a "bad" steak??

Comments

• BigA
    BigA Posts: 1,157
    u bet it is!! Depends on the butcher, the cow and the how it was cut. I just had a ribeye that was real tough and my wifes was super tender!!
  • deepsouth
    deepsouth Posts: 1,796
    it's very possible to get a bad steak. i bought a pack of three ribeyes last week and they were tougher than my wallet. i know because i took a bit out of my wallet and not out of the steak.....

i don't know why, but it's possible.
  • Clay Q
    Clay Q Posts: 4,486
    Yes it's possible the beef was tuff to begin with, but sirloin steaks are leaner and less forgiving to grill.
    New York Strips(a favorite with me)richer with fat than sirloin. Ribeye steaks I think have the most fat and are very juicy and tender off the grill. Also check the grade of meat; Select(not very good), Choice (ok), Prime (very good). When it comes to steak, fat content makes a big difference.