Welcome to the EGGhead Forum - a great place to visit and packed with tips and EGGspert advice! You can also join the conversation and get more information and amazing kamado recipes by following Big Green Egg to Experience our World of Flavor™ at:
Facebook  |  Twitter  |  Instagram  |  Pinterest  |  Youtube  |  Vimeo
Share your photos by tagging us and using the hashtag #BigGreenEgg.

Want to see how the EGG is made? Click to Watch

Tri Tip Advice

Shwiezzee
Shwiezzee Posts: 304
edited November -1 in EggHead Forum
Got a 3 to 3.5 lb. tri-tip. I have been reading various post over the last few days what people have done. Any advice on the best way to knock it out of the park would be appreciated! It's my first attempt with this cut. :blink:

Jay
I'm ashamed of what I did for a Klondike Bar.

Comments

• 2Fategghead
    2Fategghead Posts: 9,624
    This is how I have always done the cook. ;) Tim

http://eggsbythebay.com/Recipes.html
  • Ripnem
    Ripnem Posts: 5,511
    Jay,

I'd say that the most important thing is to not over cook the roast and be sure to cut it (to serve) on the bias or perpendicular to the grain and pretty thin 3/8" is about it.

I'm also a big fan of the recipe Tim posted
  • fishlessman
    fishlessman Posts: 32,669
    i like morro bay rich's recipe as well, the baste really does it right, i do back off with the salt in that recipe though :)
    fukahwee maine

you can lead a fish to water but you can not make him drink it
  • Yes - Morro Bay Rich describes it excellently. My first tri-tip looked like this, you can do the same!

Do it up and let us know how you did!

9ad37aee.jpg

44804451.jpg
  • Shwiezzee
    Thanks Gents!

This is how it will be cooked. The Tri-Tip is the back up plan to no skiing this weekend.

Jay
  • 2Fategghead
    I have only skied one time. One whole day. In that day I had to teach myself. I had the best time. I like cooking and eating but, would rather go skiing. ;)
  • Shwiezzee