Welcome to the EGGhead Forum - a great place to visit and packed with tips and EGGspert advice! You can also join the conversation and get more information and amazing kamado recipes by following Big Green Egg to Experience our World of Flavor™ at:
Facebook  |  Twitter  |  Instagram  |  Pinterest  |  Youtube  |  Vimeo
Share your photos by tagging us and using the hashtag #BigGreenEgg.

Want to see how the EGG is made? Click to Watch

Flames out the top of the egg- too much?

rprice54
rprice54 Posts: 39
edited November -1 in EggHead Forum
Okay, I'm breaking in my new egg, and feel like a total noob even though I've gotten pretty proficient on my gas grill.

Tonight was steaks for the first time. Filled the firebox, lit it up, opened the vents and let the baby heat up. 10 min later I notice flames out the top. Temp at 700. I 'burp' the egg, open it up, and I've got a raging fire in there. Is that what I want or should it be smoldering coals?

I threw my test steak on there, 2 min per side, and pulled it off. I was expecting charcoal steak but instead had a good sear and internal temp around 80-90. Shut down the vents, 4 min later I have a great steak, but a little smoky. My other steaks were cooked too much because 4 min just didn't seem right and I gave them a few more minutes before the dwell. My bad...

But my question is about the flames. I don't want to go crazy and melt the gasket or anything. Are flames out the top vent desirable or too much? I don't want to cook the coating off my grid, I figure the ceramic of the egg can take it.

Comments

• Flames out the top is common for me as I sear the steaks as hot as I can get it. Not an issue.
    Large & MiniMax in Lexington, KY
  • Carolina Q
    Carolina Q Posts: 14,831
    You got what you're supposed to get. You WILL melt your OEM gasket... BGE gaskets suck. :laugh: