Welcome to the EGGhead Forum - a great place to visit and packed with tips and EGGspert advice! You can also join the conversation and get more information and amazing kamado recipes by following Big Green Egg to Experience our World of Flavor™ at:
Facebook  |  Twitter  |  Instagram  |  Pinterest  |  Youtube  |  Vimeo
Share your photos by tagging us and using the hashtag #BigGreenEgg.

Want to see how the EGG is made? Click to Watch

Starting the fire

Options
Philicious
Philicious Posts: 346
edited November -1 in EggHead Forum
I am new to the BGE and have a large. So far I have been using the starter squares.

I am interested to hear how others light there lump and any tips y'all can offer.
Electric starter? Chimney starter? Any other thoughts or ideas?

Thanks.
Born and raised in NOLA. Now live in East TN.

Comments

• dhuffjr
    dhuffjr Posts: 3,182
    Options
    I've gone through a couple propane torches that have done double duty for copper pipe work. Last one just died and I went the weed burner route. There are some natural firestarter gel products out there that work well. I've seen a lot of guys get those fireplace starter logs. and break them up into small pieces. You can twist a paper towel piece or small piece of napkin and dip it in cooking oil and go with that. I've even seen a method using rubbing alcohol. Last one that comes to mind is an electric firestarter. I quit that method when I forgot it once and melted it :whistle:

lots of options
  • vidalia1
    vidalia1 Posts: 7,092
    Options
    MAPP torch...buy them at HD or Lowe's.
  • PhilsGrill
    PhilsGrill Posts: 2,256
    Options
    Upper left corner under 'search forum', type in lighting the egg.
  • Egg Master 3000
    Options
    Chimney starter is not worth the trouble for the egg. The charcoal lights easily in the egg and I never heard of anyone having to add lump to a cook.

I use paper towel/oil combo... but I am too cheap to buy other fire starting equipment :laugh: