Welcome to the EGGhead Forum - a great place to visit and packed with tips and EGGspert advice! You can also join the conversation and get more information and amazing kamado recipes by following Big Green Egg to Experience our World of Flavor™ at:
Facebook  |  Twitter  |  Instagram  |  Pinterest  |  Youtube  |  Vimeo
Share your photos by tagging us and using the hashtag #BigGreenEgg.

Want to see how the EGG is made? Click to Watch

Porkulus, brined pork butt madness.

Mud Pig
Mud Pig Posts: 489
edited November -1 in EggHead Forum
Its going to be a good weekend. I have two 9 pound pork butts brining in my fridge as of last night. Going to pull them out on Friday night, giving them 48 hours in an Asian inspired brine. This is my first attempt at pork butt so I'm going all out on it. Hopefully it comes off.

Here are the ingredients to the brine. 1 gallon of water, 6 cups of soy sauce, a cup of honey, a cup of molassas, half cup salt, 1 cup white sugar. Bring to a boil and then rapidly cool with abiout 5 pounds of ice. This further dilutes the brine as well.
IMG00087-20101229-2014.jpg

Here are my pork butts in the brine. Each one of them is about 9 pounds. Notice the stab marks from my knife all over the butts, lets the brine penetrate better.
IMG00088-20101229-2045.jpg

Anyone have any tips on when to start these? I'd like to be feeding my friends at about 7PM on Saturday. I was thinking of starting these around 8PM on Friday night and letting them go all night.

How long do you figure each butt will take to cook?

Comments

• crghc98
    crghc98 Posts: 1,006
    not sure how the brining will affect it but you are looking at about 12-18 hours at 250...

I would start them around midnight, if they are done at 12pm double wrap in a aluminum foil and into a warm cooler insulated with towels...pull around 5pm and keep warm in a 200 degree oven until 7...