Welcome to the EGGhead Forum - a great place to visit and packed with tips and EGGspert advice! You can also join the conversation and get more information and amazing kamado recipes by following Big Green Egg to Experience our World of Flavor™ at:
Facebook  |  Twitter  |  Instagram  |  Pinterest  |  Youtube  |  Vimeo
Share your photos by tagging us and using the hashtag #BigGreenEgg.

Want to see how the EGG is made? Click to Watch

New Egg and 1st Prim Rib

Options
Bohicad
Bohicad Posts: 2
edited November -1 in EggHead Forum
This is my first time usiing the Egg and smoking a 10 lb Prime Rib. Would appreciate any feedback on my plan.
Rub w/ minced garlic /Sea Salt/ Fresh Pepper and Marinate overnight. Bring to room temp before adding to Egg. Bring Egg to 500dg add Prime Rib add presoaked hickory. Bring down to 225dg plan on 20 min per lb and take off at 120 w/ 130 goal (rare to med rare)tent and carve in a half hour. Note outside temp in 30's
When do you know egg charcoal is lit and ready to go?
Is it recommended that the Prime Rib sit inside a container to catch juices?
How should you adjust times for outside temps?
Anyone have any Aus Jus recommendations?
Thanks in advance for suggestions and Seasons Greetings

Comments

• Little Steven
    Options
    Bohicad,

You are going to have a wait on your hands going from 500* down to 225*. Why not do it the other way? Cook it at 225-250* until 15* shy of your temp finish and then knock everything open. Take the roast out of the pan for your sear so you don't burn your juices and drippings.

Steve

Steve 

Caledon, ON

• Lovenbrau
    Options
    Personally I would hold off on salting the meat until just before putting on the grill. Might draw too much moisture out. I would put on at 500 and get it back to 500, shut it down until it gets to 350 then cook for 20 min per pound.
  • Kinger
    Kinger Posts: 147
    Options
    I agree. Cook it slow first and sear at the end. Check out this link to thirdeyes blog