Welcome to the EGGhead Forum - a great place to visit and packed with tips and EGGspert advice! You can also join the conversation and get more information and amazing kamado recipes by following Big Green Egg to Experience our World of Flavor™ at:
Facebook  |  Twitter  |  Instagram  |  Pinterest  |  Youtube  |  Vimeo
Share your photos by tagging us and using the hashtag #BigGreenEgg.

Want to see how the EGG is made? Click to Watch

The BGE and the office don\'t mix, do they?

Options
Mud Pig
Mud Pig Posts: 489
edited November -1 in EggHead Forum
I guess we'll find out today. I've been working professionally now for almost 8 years and in that time I've never once brought a dish in for the holiday party. Then again in past years I didn't have a pig furnace at my disposal. I figured it was time to introduce some BGE BBQ to the office so I did a brat low and slow cook last night.

On to the cook.

I set my XL BGE up at 200 degrees indirect with hickory wood chunks. Then put on 30 Johnsonville brats for a low and slow traditional BBQed link. We went for 2 hours until the got nice color and smoke flavor. You have to love the cooking surface area of an XL.
IMG00057-20101216-1901.jpg

We got some snow yesterday but that didn't stop me last night. Gave me an excuse to be outside with mother nature.
IMG00059-20101216-1902.jpg

Here are all 30 after 2 hours on the smoker. The came out perfect, nice and juicy, great color and you wouldn't believe the hickory smell coming off them. I used last nights pizza box lined with foil to carry them into work this morning. Thanks Papa Johns.
IMG00062-20101217-0805.jpg

Here they are all dressed for the party in the break room at work. I loaded my crock pot up with 4 Yeungling beers and set her to low. The beer should add another layer of flavor and I can't wait to try these. I know one dish at the office party this year that won't dissapoint.
IMG00063-20101217-0933.jpg