Welcome to the EGGhead Forum - a great place to visit and packed with tips and EGGspert advice! You can also join the conversation and get more information and amazing kamado recipes by following Big Green Egg to Experience our World of Flavor™ at:
Facebook  |  Twitter  |  Instagram  |  Pinterest  |  Youtube  |  Vimeo
Share your photos by tagging us and using the hashtag #BigGreenEgg.

Want to see how the EGG is made? Click to Watch

Smoking Advice Sought

Options
Sun Deviled Egg
Sun Deviled Egg Posts: 14
edited November -1 in EggHead Forum
I've been egging for a few years now and I have a consistent issue I can't seem to overcome. When I cook using the platesetter, my smoke flavor is weak at best. I typically throw in chunks of mesquite in with my coals and I'll get good smoke in the beginning, but it does not seem to last. For my Thanksgiving turkey, I used mesquite pellets mixed in with the coals and also wrapped some in foil with holes. The result was a perfectly cooked turkey with only a wisp of smoke flavor.

Thanks in advance for your tips.

Go Devils!

Comments

• stike
    stike Posts: 15,597
    Options
    wood on top? if the wood is only on top, the fire can either use it up, or actually burn from under it. the fire (in my egg anyway) goes downward. not in a spiral, not outward, just DOWN.

if i want continuous smoke (and sometimes that can be too much), i will add lump to a fairly empty egg (or just move aside any lump already there) and build the fire in layers.

like this>> a little lump, some chips or small chunks, some more lump, some chips/chinks, some more lump, and so on until it is filled to where i want it. i leave the chips OFF the top.

i light the egg, and when the lumop is burnging clear and i'm at temp, i add some chips into the fire, drop in the indirect set-up and the meat.