Welcome to the EGGhead Forum - a great place to visit and packed with tips and EGGspert advice! You can also join the conversation and get more information and amazing kamado recipes by following Big Green Egg to Experience our World of Flavor™ at:
Facebook  |  Twitter  |  Instagram  |  Pinterest  |  Youtube  |  Vimeo
Share your photos by tagging us and using the hashtag #BigGreenEgg.

Want to see how the EGG is made? Click to Watch

Paella versus Jambalaya

Options
RGBHV
RGBHV Posts: 1,318
edited November -1 in EggHead Forum
I'm preparing for a BBQ next weekend and have been looking at different recipes in addition to standard BBQ fare.

I recently did a Paella and was pleased with the results. Although I've never done one before, I thought it might be interesting to make a Jambalaya. As I researched recipes, I found that the ingredients and preparation for both dishes were very similar. I read on the net that Jambalaya was derived from Paella. With the exception of some spices, are these dishes essentially the same?

Michael

Comments

• duchunter
    duchunter Posts: 110
    Options
    Michael,
    Yes they are along the same lines but Jambalaya has more seasonings (spicy), if your are having guests that you might be worried that my not like the spicy type seasoning then I would stick with the Paella, my favorite!!, and you can make different styles of Paella, all seafood, all chicken, all veggie, or all mixed together, it is very easy to modify a Paella with out having a lot of extra work! Just my .02 worth,
    Good luck Andrew

Egg Family: Large and Medium Eggs and a Bradley Smoker

• RGBHV
    Options
    We were planning a couple different Paella dishes - 1) seafood, 2) chicken, maybe even a vegetarian.

I suppose I could replace one of those dishes with a jambalaya for folks that like something a little more spicy.

I agree, the dish is really versatile, a lot easier to make than I first thought and it's pretty forgiving.

Michael
  • rsmdale