Welcome to the EGGhead Forum - a great place to visit and packed with tips and EGGspert advice! You can also join the conversation and get more information and amazing kamado recipes by following Big Green Egg to Experience our World of Flavor™ at:
Facebook  |  Twitter  |  Instagram  |  Pinterest  |  Youtube  |  Vimeo
Share your photos by tagging us and using the hashtag #BigGreenEgg.

Want to see how the EGG is made? Click to Watch

Best woods for a table?

Options
E.Redshirt
E.Redshirt Posts: 18
edited November -1 in EGG Table Forum
I'm getting my first Egg this Saturday (a Father's Day gift from my family) and I've already drawn out the plans for a table to build around it- complete with a nice, 24"x40" speckled granite slab countertop appropriated from my father-in-law's backyard following his kitchen renovation.

I'm a good woodworker, but I haven't worked with outdoor furniture before, so my question is- what woods are recommended for the job? I've ruled out PT lumber, and would prefer something that stands out against the granite (cypress and white cedar fade to a silver-grey that would blend in too much.) I'm also interested in a sustainable wood.

I'm currently leaning towards red cedar, but not sure of its availability in my area (Northern California.) Any good backups to have in mind when I hit the lumber yard?

Comments

• Frank from Houma
    Options
    cypress, cedar, or redwood work well for outdoors. Teak and mahogany would also work but a little pricey.

Made mine out of redwood and put three coats of marine varnish. After three years my tables need refinishing even though I put three coats of marine varnish. If I refinish (Thinking about doing a masonry built in) I will get a cover to protect against UV rays.
  • Jai-Bo
    Jai-Bo Posts: 584
    Options