Welcome to the EGGhead Forum - a great place to visit and packed with tips and EGGspert advice! You can also join the conversation and get more information and amazing kamado recipes by following Big Green Egg to Experience our World of Flavor™ at:
Facebook  |  Twitter  |  Instagram  |  Pinterest  |  Youtube  |  Vimeo
Share your photos by tagging us and using the hashtag #BigGreenEgg.

Want to see how the EGG is made? Click to Watch

High gluten wheat pizza dough.Any comment

Options
Darnoc
Darnoc Posts: 2,661
edited November -1 in EggHead Forum
Never tried one but I was thinking one third of your flour might be whole wheat.Has any one made a dough that you would recommend?

Comments

• Large Marge
    Large Marge Posts: 404
    Options
    I'm actually trying to find a good gluten-free dough. I hear they exist. Breadless pizza for us carb-counters is messy! :P
  • gdenby
    gdenby Posts: 6,239
    Options
    I'm a novice with all things yeast&flour. However, one of the finest pizzarias in my vicinity (stop50woodfiredpizzeria(no connection but satisfaction)) has started offering whole wheat. It cost a buck more than the standard sour dough. I asked the main man "why the higher cost?" and he replied with what I suspected. "Harder to work with." So, it was a good pizza for rich flavored toppings, like mushrooms. However, lot harder to work.
  • gdenby
    gdenby Posts: 6,239
    Options
    I've read recipes using chickpea flour. The results seem more like a tortilla with toppings. but with a no flour base.
  • Darnoc
    Options
    That is what I have heard.The dough mix that I use is 1 1/2 cups high gluten flour and 1/2 cup of semolina flour.I do autolyse my dough and was thinking of using a third of a cup of each.No one seems to have made whole wheat pizza so later this week I will have to give it a go.Let you all know how it turns out with photos of course.
  • Fidel
    Fidel Posts: 10,172
    Options