Welcome to the EGGhead Forum - a great place to visit and packed with tips and EGGspert advice! You can also join the conversation and get more information and amazing kamado recipes by following Big Green Egg to Experience our World of Flavor™ at:
Facebook  |  Twitter  |  Instagram  |  Pinterest  |  Youtube  |  Vimeo
Share your photos by tagging us and using the hashtag #BigGreenEgg.

Want to see how the EGG is made? Click to Watch

Does (or should) pork butt have a fat cap?

Options
Unknown
edited November -1 in EggHead Forum
Just picked up a 5# pork butt from the butcher and noticed there was no fat cap... then again this is my first time cooking one so I don't know if that is normal or not?[p]The butcher did trim the brisket that was in the case so I think maybe they would trim a butt as well....[p]Anyway, should it have a cap and if so (since mine does not) should I try to add a cap (bacon or something) while it cooks?[p]Also, how long post cook can I keep this thing warm.... I am debating whether I want to start the cook tonight around midnight and be done around noon and try to keep warm until dinner time (5-6)..... or do I have to get up with the birds and start then... say 5 am?[p]Thanks[p]

Comments

• Unknown
    Options
    Nardi, you might want to see if your butcher can get you a butt that has the fat cap left on it. Around here I buy mine at Sams, two buts in a croyovac package with a perfect fat cap for around.
    As far as times go I cook mine for 20 or 22 hrs at 200 to 220 deg, I never check the temp of the meat. When the butt gets pulled there is no waste except for the bone, the fat cap gets chopped up and added back into the rest of it.
    Hope this helps![p]

• Unknown
    Options
    Nardi,
    Duh, forget to mention that you can wrap in foil, cover with a towel and place in a cooler for several hours until it time to eat. At least do so for an hour to let the meat rest before pulling.[p] [p]

• Ryan
    Ryan Posts: 243
    Options