Welcome to the EGGhead Forum - a great place to visit and packed with tips and EGGspert advice! You can also join the conversation and get more information and amazing kamado recipes by following Big Green Egg to Experience our World of Flavor™ at:
Facebook  |  Twitter  |  Instagram  |  Pinterest  |  Youtube  |  Vimeo
Share your photos by tagging us and using the hashtag #BigGreenEgg.

Want to see how the EGG is made? Click to Watch

large and med

Options
darylws
darylws Posts: 3
edited November -1 in EggHead Forum
I am new to the egg world but after reading about large vs xl I will be going with the large. now the problem
if I like the egg like I think I will I will be looking
at a new problem for the second one med vs small
any thoughts

Comments

• Crimsongator
    Crimsongator Posts: 5,797
    Options
    the small is the protable option. I would go with a large/small combo.
  • Firetruck
    Firetruck Posts: 2,679
    Options
    I have had a large for a while and recently bought a small. I have'nt had the opportunity to really test it, but have done several cooks on it so far. I have no trouble feeding a family of 4 with the small. So far I love it.
  • jeffinsgf
    jeffinsgf Posts: 1,259
    Options
    I've had my medium for almost 10 years. I just got my large. There are things that I still prefer to do on the medium. The small is more portable than the medium, but I can't see any other advantage. Maybe I'll have to get one of them, too to make sure. :laugh:

Low and slows are much, much easier on the large. The large has more corporate and third party accessories. But, the medium is my choice for steaks, direct roasting cooks and dutch oven cooks.
  • Grandpas Grub
    Grandpas Grub Posts: 14,226
    Options
    The decision is really about how many you are cooking for most of the time.

I have all from large down. If I were starting over, with my needs, I think I would get a large and a mini.