Welcome to the EGGhead Forum - a great place to visit and packed with tips and EGGspert advice! You can also join the conversation and get more information and amazing kamado recipes by following Big Green Egg to Experience our World of Flavor™ at:
Facebook  |  Twitter  |  Instagram  |  Pinterest  |  Youtube  |  Vimeo
Share your photos by tagging us and using the hashtag #BigGreenEgg.

Want to see how the EGG is made? Click to Watch

problems lighting the BGE...

stike
stike Posts: 15,597
edited November -1 in EggHead Forum
Hi. Long time listener, first time caller (wait, that's for A.M. radio).
I'm a relative novice. Have done 4 cooks on the BGE, all eye-rolling-into-the-back-of-your-head-good results. I am doing two slabs of spareribs right now,indirect, as I type.
My question is w/r/t lighting. I've used newspaper with adequate but ashey results. I have no electrical outlet handy for an elecric starter. I have tried the last couple times to use fatwood sticks. They light easily with a match, but burn out and don't seem to get the lump going. I will of course try the paraffin, but since i have a massive bag of fatwood, i'm wondering if anyone can offer advice on using it. What am I doing wrong? It seems the stuff should spark off quite well, but it either burns out, or burns up without starting the lump.[p]Also, when the lump IS going, should I spread it around evenly within the firebox, or is it best to let it spread out from where it was started?[p]Thanks muchly, and as I'm dial-up, I may not respond back very quickly. Looking forward to your thoughts.
Stike

ed egli avea del cul fatto trombetta -Dante

Comments

• stike, i use the webber fire starters light from below the grate if i want a high temp and on top of the lump if it is a low and slow cook some on here use with ease a mapp gas torch to get the coals going i am sure the other will help more then i and welcome to the forum