Welcome to the EGGhead Forum - a great place to visit and packed with tips and EGGspert advice! You can also join the conversation and get more information and amazing kamado recipes by following Big Green Egg to Experience our World of Flavor™ at:
Facebook  |  Twitter  |  Instagram  |  Pinterest  |  Youtube  |  Vimeo
Share your photos by tagging us and using the hashtag #BigGreenEgg.

Want to see how the EGG is made? Click to Watch

Boneless Lamb Roast

Options
DynaGreaseball
DynaGreaseball Posts: 1,409
edited November -1 in EggHead Forum
My friend is bringing over a 5 lb., de-boned and netted leg of lamb. He wants me to cook it on my medium. I've never done lamb before.

He said he'd like to do it sorta like a boston butt. But, when I mentioned "low and slow" that's not what he meant. He meant that he likes rubs and smoke.

Anyone got any special recipes and methods they like to use with this cut of meat? Should I just treat my egg like an oven here? What wood works best with lamb? I have hickory, apple, and Jack's bourbon barrel wood chips. Rubs??? I have a lot of John Henry Pecan Rub, and some Dizzy Dust. At what temperature does one pull lamb off? Does it need resting to re-distribute juices like beef?

My friend is a Chef, and I want to act a little like I know what I'm doing.

Thanks for any help.

Comments

• Richard Fl
    Richard Fl Posts: 8,297
    Options
    Here are a couple of ideas.

http://playingwithfireandsmoke.blogspot.com/1993/02/lamb-stuffed-shoulder.html

Lamb, Leg, Boneless, Stuffed, Richard Fl

BACONDODNE.jpg

INGREDIENTS:
    1 3 1/2-5 Lbs Boneless Leg of Lamb
    5-6 Pieces Bacon
    Salt/Pepper to taste
    2-3 Twigs Fresh Rosemary
    Stuffing
    1 Pkg Spinach
    Garlic, Minced
    Olice Oil
    Ricotta or Cottage Cheese
    Capicola sliced thinly
    Mango Chutney
    Pignole nuts
    2-4 Pieces Apple or Guava Wood for smoking
    Marinade
    1 cup Italian Salad Dressing
    4-6 Cloves Garlic, Whole