Welcome to the EGGhead Forum - a great place to visit and packed with tips and EGGspert advice! You can also join the conversation and get more information and amazing kamado recipes by following Big Green Egg to Experience our World of Flavor™ at:
Facebook  |  Twitter  |  Instagram  |  Pinterest  |  Youtube  |  Vimeo
Share your photos by tagging us and using the hashtag #BigGreenEgg.

Want to see how the EGG is made? Click to Watch

Help with Gasket - we are dorks

Options
oggiedog
oggiedog Posts: 2
edited November -1 in EggHead Forum
Ok...we are dorks...yesterday was our first day with the Egg. I have been eying it for 10 years. FINALLY bought it....SOOOOO exciting. But let the hubby and friend (no offense guys) light it and heat it up to 350 degrees. after what seemed like forever, we went out to check the temp and found it was 650 degress!! they were looking at C and not F!!! and No, there was NO alchohol involved...hard to believe. Unfortunately, they thought they were "burping" the egg and opened it too far. The flash was HUGE and almost killed our friend...he lived, but the gasket didnt....it was FRIED. We managed to get through ribs and chicken with amazing results but the gasket was STICKY and horrible.

Today I went to the dealer who said new gaskets are special orders and I cannot get one for 2 weeks. Called 50 miles around and it seems my BBQ weekend is over. I am sad.

So we turned our attention to getting the gasket off. The dealer had no idea what to tell us. how to remove it or clean it or prepare it for another one.

THe new DVD is a sales pitch and not very educational especially for the gasket changing......

Can you guys help a newbie????

thanks.....the dorks from CALIFORNIA

Comments

• Buckethead
    Buckethead Posts: 285
    Options
    Don't be so hard on yourself. Save the Dork stuff for 2-3 years and do it all over again. Try this nakedwhiz.com. Best site you can find out about most everything you need to know to Egg.
    Doug