Welcome to the EGGhead Forum - a great place to visit and packed with tips and EGGspert advice! You can also join the conversation and get more information and amazing kamado recipes by following Big Green Egg to Experience our World of Flavor™ at:
Facebook  |  Twitter  |  Instagram  |  Pinterest  |  Youtube  |  Vimeo
Share your photos by tagging us and using the hashtag #BigGreenEgg.

Want to see how the EGG is made? Click to Watch

Picnic shoulder

Options
Cecil
Cecil Posts: 771
edited November -1 in EggHead Forum
Yesterday I put a 4.25# half picnic on @2:30 (on sale for $.99)
Dome temp constant 250-260 throughout cook.
Removed most skin and rubbed.
I forgot about it until 10:30 and internal was 190, so I took it off as I was ready for bed.
It turned out dry on outside and didn't pull apart like butts do.
Was it this particular cut or did I do something else wrong?

Thanks,
Walt

Comments

• Judge
    Judge Posts: 35
    Options
    Photo's please I am an expert at dry (-:
  • Cecil
    Options
    Alas, as I was sleepy, I didn't record any.

Walt
  • Judge
    Judge Posts: 35
    Options
    shame you did not get photo's for the real experts around here all i could do was tell you exactly why it is dry. I have figured out every darn way to do dry food! But getting better
  • Fidel
    Fidel Posts: 10,172
    Options
    Picnics typically don't have the same amount of internal fat as a butt. Was yours bone-in?

I did one a couple weeks ago that I skinned before cooking, but I injected it with as much fluid as I could get it to hold. It turned out very flavorful, but still not quite as moist as a butt.

PicnicDone800.jpg
  • stike
    stike Posts: 15,597
    Options
    indirect?
    ed egli avea del cul fatto trombetta -Dante
  • Rascal
    Rascal Posts: 3,923
    Options