Welcome to the EGGhead Forum - a great place to visit and packed with tips and EGGspert advice! You can also join the conversation and get more information and amazing kamado recipes by following Big Green Egg to Experience our World of Flavor™ at:
Facebook  |  Twitter  |  Instagram  |  Pinterest  |  Youtube  |  Vimeo
Share your photos by tagging us and using the hashtag #BigGreenEgg.

Want to see how the EGG is made? Click to Watch

new egg

Options
jekinms
jekinms Posts: 7
edited November -1 in EggHead Forum
Finally got brave enough to invest in an egg. My first two cooks were a disaster (trying to learn temp control, etc). I did'nt believe the ads about a bad cook on an egg were better than a sucess on any other grill, but when my wife said that everything was cooked to perfection, I now truely believe. I am now a confirmed novice egghead.

Comments

• pop-a- top
    pop-a- top Posts: 184
    Options
    Welcome to the club.
  • Knauf
    Knauf Posts: 337
    Options
    Just keep practicing and eating your mistakes. I've learned a bunch of things on this forum. Everyone is very helpful. Good luck.
  • Fidel
    Fidel Posts: 10,172
    Options
    Congrats on your new purchase.

The temp control thing really gets easier after 8-10 cooks. Just practice with it and take notes. You'll be surprised how handy they become - especially since each egg tends to have its own personality. Where i set my vents for a certain temperature, yours may vary quite a bit.

Learning and experimenting are a good part of the fun.
  • NJ-GrEGG
    NJ-GrEGG Posts: 171
    Options
    Welcome aboard!

I remember when I bought my Egg in 2003 and the newbee blunders I made early on. These two sites helped me a lot.

Dizzy Pig: http://dizzypigbbq.com/recipes.html

( I just did the wings....easy and very good )

The Naked Whiz BBQ:

http://www.nakedwhiz.com/recipes.htm

(Go here before your first pulled pork!)

Just two of many more out there! Happy Egging!
  • Austin Smoker