Welcome to the EGGhead Forum - a great place to visit and packed with tips and EGGspert advice! You can also join the conversation and get more information and amazing kamado recipes by following Big Green Egg to Experience our World of Flavor™ at:
Facebook  |  Twitter  |  Instagram  |  Pinterest  |  Youtube  |  Vimeo
Share your photos by tagging us and using the hashtag #BigGreenEgg.

Want to see how the EGG is made? Click to Watch

Jalapeno bread and butter pickles

Options
Darnoc
Darnoc Posts: 2,661
edited November -1 in EggHead Forum
This is my first attempt to make these and after being in the brine for only two hours they taste pretty good.I just could not wait for them to soak overnight.

1 pound jalapeño slices (I pushed most of the seeds out)
2 cups sugar
2 cups white vinegar
1 tbs mustard seed
1 tbs celery seed
1 tbs turmeric
1 onion sliced
2 tbs salt

Bring it to a boil then simmer for seven minutes
LET IT COOL DOWN then pour it over the peppers and onions

The recipe said to refrigerate for seven to ten days inverting every two days.But as you see I could not wait.

Enjoy.

Comments

• thirdeye
    thirdeye Posts: 7,428
    Options
    Boy, that's not showing much will power :laugh:

21ee8ca5.jpg

Good move on taking the seeds out, they can make them pretty spicy. Of course, you can see I don't always practice what I preach....

I made pickled asparagus today, with kosher and Polish flavors. They used a refrigerator mix too.
    Happy Trails
    ~thirdeye~

Barbecue is not rocket surgery
  • Darnoc
    Darnoc Posts: 2,661
    Options