Welcome to the EGGhead Forum - a great place to visit and packed with tips and EGGspert advice! You can also join the conversation and get more information and amazing kamado recipes by following Big Green Egg to Experience our World of Flavor™ at:
Facebook  |  Twitter  |  Instagram  |  Pinterest  |  Youtube  |  Vimeo
Share your photos by tagging us and using the hashtag #BigGreenEgg.

Want to see how the EGG is made? Click to Watch

I'm Scared

Options
Metalhead
Metalhead Posts: 668
edited November -1 in EggHead Forum
:woohoo: here we go....I have been looking for a fresh(green )ham to smoke on the BGE for about months....lo and behold I just found one....I am going to try and brine then smoke for A block party on the 3rd of May

wish me luck and any advice.....please respond

I am a serious ham newbie here

Comments

• BENTE
    BENTE Posts: 8,337
    Options
    here's an idea:

Pork, Ham, Fresh, Cuban Style

INGREDIENTS:
    1 (10 to 12-pound) fresh ham
    1 cup sour orange juice (or 4 ounces orange juice and 2 ounces each lemon and lime juices)
    1 head garlic, peeled and crushed
    1 Tbs dried oregano
    2 tsp ground cumin
    1 Tbs salt
    1/2 cup water

Procedure:
    1 Mix together the juice, garlic, oregano, cumin, salt, and water. Put the ham into a large bowl or leak-proof plastic bag and pour over the marinade. Let soak in the refrigerator overnight. (Or let the marinade steep for 1 hour, strain it, and inject it directly into the ham using a marinade injector; wrap and refrigerate the ham overnight. Use any leftover marinade for basting.)
    2 Preheat the oven to 325 degrees F.