Welcome to the EGGhead Forum - a great place to visit and packed with tips and EGGspert advice! You can also join the conversation and get more information and amazing kamado recipes by following Big Green Egg to Experience our World of Flavor™ at:
Facebook  |  Twitter  |  Instagram  |  Pinterest  |  Youtube  |  Vimeo
Share your photos by tagging us and using the hashtag #BigGreenEgg.

Want to see how the EGG is made? Click to Watch

My first pork butt cook

EggRacer
EggRacer Posts: 400
edited November -1 in EggHead Forum
I've been egging for 1 1/2 years and had yet to try a pork butt. I just wasn't looking forward to a low and slow overnighter plus I hadn't seen what I would call a nice looking chunk of pork butt at our local grocery. Well the heavens aligned. I saw a cooking show that cooked up a wonderful looking pork butt in a ceramic cooker in 4 hours and I found a nice looking chunk of pig at the store.[p]I decided to try the 4 hour cook which sounds like heresy the way most everyone here cooks a pork butt. I rubbed it with some Tabasco Chipotle sauce and dusted it with Shaking the Tree. I got the egg up to 330-350, threw in a large handful of Jack Daniels smoking chips and cooked it indirect for four hours. It finished with a beautiful and very flavorful bark, a nice smoke ring, and was a moist pullable consistency.[p]This is a cook I'll do more often if I find some good pork. It's hard to imagine it tasting any better if cooked longer. No pics this time it was destroyed too fast. Now I know why everyone cooks multiple pork butts and does it often.
XLBGE & LBGE
North Richland Hills, TX

Comments

• Jeeves
    Jeeves Posts: 461