Welcome to the EGGhead Forum - a great place to visit and packed with tips and EGGspert advice! You can also join the conversation and get more information and amazing kamado recipes by following Big Green Egg to Experience our World of Flavor™ at:
Facebook  |  Twitter  |  Instagram  |  Pinterest  |  Youtube  |  Vimeo
Share your photos by tagging us and using the hashtag #BigGreenEgg.

Want to see how the EGG is made? Click to Watch

Whole Chicken - Rubbery Skin

Options
Unknown
edited November -1 in EggHead Forum
I am new to using the Big Green Egg. We have done several things that have turned out great, but last night we tried doing a whole chicken. I put a mesquite rub inside and outside the bird and placed it on a Weber beer can roaster that has a solid metal pan style bottom that catches drippings. I put beer in the center cup and in the drip pan. We used Big Green Egg lump and smoked with pre-soaked apple chunks. Dome temp 325-350 for just under 2 hours. Skin was very dark and tough. The chicken inside was moist but the skin was not crisp, more leathery and tough than we like. [p]Any ideas on what we did wrong or what we can do next time? Did we need to baste the chicken. It was a free range chicken with no hormones or steroids.

Comments

• Dover_Gal
    Options
    Lynlynx1,
    Same result with a chicken roasted 1.5 hours and one chunk of apple. My presumption is that we are smoking the chicken as well as roasting, and that is what happens to the skin. Plus with the extra moisture that an Egg holds in compared to a hot-air oven, the skin would not drain fat and crisp the same way. All I know is, I got the same result.

• Meinbmw
    Meinbmw Posts: 157
    Options
    Lynlynx1,