Welcome to the EGGhead Forum - a great place to visit and packed with tips and EGGspert advice! You can also join the conversation and get more information and amazing kamado recipes by following Big Green Egg to Experience our World of Flavor™ at:
Facebook  |  Twitter  |  Instagram  |  Pinterest  |  Youtube  |  Vimeo
Share your photos by tagging us and using the hashtag #BigGreenEgg.

Want to see how the EGG is made? Click to Watch

Salmon on cedar planks

Dawgtired
Dawgtired Posts: 632
edited November -1 in EggHead Forum
Hey Guys,
I've decided to expand my horizons and try cooking some salmon steaks on cedar planks. I've never done this before so I wanted to see if anyone had any suggestions for temp., time and technique.
THANKS!!!!![p]

If we ever forget that we are One Nation Under God, then we will be a nation gone under.

Ronald Reagan

Comments

• Dawgtired,
    Love Salmon cooked on cedar planks. Never thought I would say that though. It just doesn't seem right, but it sure is good.[p]Soak your planks a long time. Four hours is good but if you're in a hurry you can get by with less (the wood just burns up quicker).[p]You really need good salmon, the fresher the better. Thick is good. Be sure to pull the bones out (usually takes tweezers).[p]Leave the skin on. Oil the skin side and the board (makes it stick less). A little oil on top of the Salmon is good because it helps to hold the seasoning on.[p]I used Dizzy Pig's Shaking The Tree, liberally.[p]MelissasSalmonCookingontheEgg.jpg[p]Cooked it direct at about 300° until the internal temp is 135° to 140° tops. [p]You will be pleased.[p]Spring "Salmon On The Egg Fan" Chicken
    Spring Texas USA

• Big'un
    Big'un Posts: 5,909
    Spring Chicken,
    How strong of taste does the wood impart to the fish. I'm hesitant to try it. Good salmon runs top dollar down here in Ga.

• Spring Chicken,
    This is the info I needed...Thanks!!!! Do you flip the fish?