Welcome to the EGGhead Forum - a great place to visit and packed with tips and EGGspert advice! You can also join the conversation and get more information and amazing kamado recipes by following Big Green Egg to Experience our World of Flavor™ at:
Facebook  |  Twitter  |  Instagram  |  Pinterest  |  Youtube  |  Vimeo
Share your photos by tagging us and using the hashtag #BigGreenEgg.

Want to see how the EGG is made? Click to Watch

advice on Cherry Wood chunks???

Midnight Smoker
Midnight Smoker Posts: 273
edited November -1 in EggHead Forum
i was thinking about getting a big box (35 pounds) of cherry wood chunks from a website for about $80. but i've never used cherry wood before.[p]i know, i should probably get a smaller amount to try it out. but i've heard it's a terrific wood for smoking things like pork ribs, and chicken. (heard it makes food nice and dark too!)[p]but then, on another website, somebody mentioned that cherry wood can be too acrid, almost like the way many people describe an excess of mesquite wood.[p]anyone got any experience with cherry wood? does it make food too bitter tasting? does it impart a nice flavor? does it really darken foods, like a whole chicken? [p]thanks!

Comments

• fishlessman
    fishlessman Posts: 32,665
    Midnight Smoker,
    i mix it with hickory guava and sometimes pecan. i dont notice an acrid flavor, but ive heard that mentioned before. it does darken up poultry. i use more cherry wood than any of the others

fukahwee maine

you can lead a fish to water but you can not make him drink it
  • Photo Egg
    Photo Egg Posts: 12,110
    Midnight Smoker,
    If I was able to use only one type of wood cherry would be that wood.
    I think if you add to much of any wood you can get adverse smoke flavors. 35 pounds will last you a good while.
    I ordered my last batch from Cabela's. The price was good and shipping was not a stab in the back.
    I ordered 3 bags and the quality was good.