Welcome to the EGGhead Forum - a great place to visit and packed with tips and EGGspert advice! You can also join the conversation and get more information and amazing kamado recipes by following Big Green Egg to Experience our World of Flavor™ at:
Facebook  |  Twitter  |  Instagram  |  Pinterest  |  Youtube  |  Vimeo
Share your photos by tagging us and using the hashtag #BigGreenEgg.

Want to see how the EGG is made? Click to Watch

Intro plus Schweinshaxen

Options
Beerco
Beerco Posts: 25
edited November -1 in EggHead Forum
Howdy all,[p]Just got my BGE a week or so ago and am lovin' life. I posted my first week's results here: http://www.discusscooking.com/forums/f93/opinions-on-a-smoker-grill-33926-2.html so I won't bother gushing about how happy I am with my Large Egg here.[p]Anyhow, about me, I've been grillin' forever on a gas grill but really only started BBQ'in a couple years ago on an electric R2D2 smoker and a little webber kettle grill. I've got a lot of experience cookin' on the stove, but only about a half dosen pork butts, many many salmons and two rib cooks on the BBQ.[p]Back in 2002, I lived in southern Germany for a year and loved their dish Schweinshaxen. It's a ham hock or half (or perhaps all) of the knee joint of a pig. I'm not sure if it's front or hind legs. Here's a couple of web pages I've found:[p]http://www.kufstein.org/stelze/[p]and here's a link to some genuine Germans cooking some up: http://www.grillsportverein.com/schweinshaxen/[p]This is one of the most amazing pork dishes I've ever had! The skin is so crispy and the meat so tender. Served in a little layer of gravy the stuff is just brilliant.[p]So I'm wondering if anyone has ever experienced this stuff and better yet, adapted a recipe for the egg. If not, keep your eyes on this space, I'll figure it out over the next year or so![p]Ciao,

Comments

• Rick G
    Rick G Posts: 185
    Options