Welcome to the EGGhead Forum - a great place to visit and packed with tips and EGGspert advice! You can also join the conversation and get more information and amazing kamado recipes by following Big Green Egg to Experience our World of Flavor™ at:
Facebook  |  Twitter  |  Instagram  |  Pinterest  |  Youtube  |  Vimeo
Share your photos by tagging us and using the hashtag #BigGreenEgg.

Want to see how the EGG is made? Click to Watch

Wood chips v. Pellets

Options
Schneid
Schneid Posts: 24
edited November -1 in EggHead Forum
I am new to the BGE scene thanks to Christmas---opened her early because the Christmas bird will be a byproduct. I have some smoking questions: Should I use wood chips or pellets? (And I know brand names are discouraged, but) any particular chips/pellets better than the rest? And for pecan chips---is it the wood or the discarded nutshell that is the source of the smoke?
Holiday wishes to all!

Comments

• Mop
    Mop Posts: 496
    Options
    Schneid, I`m new to the Egg as well but not that new to using smoke wood....can I suggest using "chunks" instead of "chips or pellets"....
    I have good luck with chunks, they don`t seem to explode into flames at the first gasp of air upon opening the lid..
    No need to soak the chunks either....
    The jury is still out on bark removal or not!
    I remove whats loose, thats all....
    Just my two cents worth...
    Roger![p]

• Spin
    Spin Posts: 1,375
    Options