Welcome to the EGGhead Forum - a great place to visit and packed with tips and EGGspert advice! You can also join the conversation and get more information and amazing kamado recipes by following Big Green Egg to Experience our World of Flavor™ at:
Facebook  |  Twitter  |  Instagram  |  Pinterest  |  Youtube  |  Vimeo
Share your photos by tagging us and using the hashtag #BigGreenEgg.

Want to see how the EGG is made? Click to Watch

LBGE owner finally bought the convEGGtor

Options
mchestnut
mchestnut Posts: 9
edited August 2017 in EggHead Forum
I'm still a newbie to owning a BGE and after a few months of owning it and only cooking with direct heat, I finally decided on buying the plate setter for my LBGE.  This forum helped me realize that it's a must have when owning a egg.  Since so far I've mostly been cooking Chicken Breast, Legs,Thighs and Wings.  Does anybody recommend the platesetter for chicken?  Just looking for opinions on cooking with a platesetter.  Thank you 

Comments

• six_egg
    six_egg Posts: 1,110
    edited August 2017
    Options
    Some people do used it to cook wings, breast. I use it myself when I don't feel like watching it to close like I would with direct heat. It does make cooking chicken breast or pork loin come out juicer. Lean meats should be cooked at lower temps and indirect that way the heat has time to reach the middle and not dry out the rest of the outside. Breast themselves are hard do to. There odd shaped. If I cook boneless skinless breast I like to pound them out and make them even.   

XLBGE, LBGE 

Fernandina Beach, FL

• saluki2007
    saluki2007 Posts: 6,354
    Options
    I go back and forth direct vs indirect when doing wings.  I use all the time when I do pulled chicken.  Where you will really want to use the platesetter is when doing ribs, butts, briskets, any thing that you are wanting to do low and slow.
    Large and Small BGE
    Central, IL

• SmokeyPitt
    SmokeyPitt Posts: 10,490
    Options