Welcome to the EGGhead Forum - a great place to visit and packed with tips and EGGspert advice! You can also join the conversation and get more information and amazing kamado recipes by following Big Green Egg to Experience our World of Flavor™ at:
Facebook  |  Twitter  |  Instagram  |  Pinterest  |  Youtube  |  Vimeo
Share your photos by tagging us and using the hashtag #BigGreenEgg.

Want to see how the EGG is made? Click to Watch

Opinion on SRF Packer please...

After doing a number of briskets and getting to the point where I think I can do them justice, I decided to splurge on a SRF. The problem is the dimensions don't quite look like what I am accustomed to. The flat looks unusually wide and well...flat, less than an inch thick about 4" up into the center section. I'm far from an expert but to me it looks like I will have a large section of flat that will not be useable. 

Maybe I'm being too picky given the cost, so I wanted to ge some opinions. Let me know what you guys/gals think.

Thanks!

Highland, MI

L BGE, Primo, and a KJ Jr

Comments

• JohnInCarolina
    JohnInCarolina Posts: 30,938
    I've had a few from them that have had weird flat shapes.  I wouldn't worry too much about it.  These things are so marbled with fat it almost doesn't matter.
    "I've made a note never to piss you two off." - Stike
  • bgebrent
    bgebrent Posts: 19,636
    +1 what John said.  Expect it to cook faster than you expect.
    Sandy Springs & Dawsonville Ga
  • Lit
    Lit Posts: 9,053
    I heard they make great burgers if you grind them up
  • lousubcap
    lousubcap Posts: 32,322
    The cow drives the cook and before that the cut.  There is no part of a SRF brisket that is unusable if you don't hose the cook.  You can foil protect the thinner part for a portion of the cook and I always run fat down with the point to the back as that is the hottest area of my BGE.  FWIW-