Welcome to the EGGhead Forum - a great place to visit and packed with tips and EGGspert advice! You can also join the conversation and get more information and amazing kamado recipes by following Big Green Egg to Experience our World of Flavor™ at:
Facebook  |  Twitter  |  Instagram  |  Pinterest  |  Youtube  |  Vimeo
Share your photos by tagging us and using the hashtag #BigGreenEgg.

Want to see how the EGG is made? Click to Watch

Where to buy wood chunks?

Options
Ive always used pellets in my masterbuilt smoker and narrowed it down to a few good sources for good sweet smelling pellets. I'm fairly new to kamado cooking and haven't nailed a good source for wood chunks yet. I tried a bag of the hickory chunks from lowes but some were a little barky and some were just off for some reason. Where do you buy your wood chunks?

Comments

• da87
    da87 Posts: 640
    Options
    No affiliation, but in addition to Rockwood lump, Firecraft has a selection of wood chunks. I've bought a couple of the brands and cherry, apple, pecan, oak, and hickory - all have been good size. Since I'm usually ordering 6 bags of Rockwood I'm into the free shipping zone. 
    Doug
    Wayne, PA
    LBGE, Weber Kettle (gifted to my sister), Weber Gasser

"Two things are infinite:  the universe and human stupidity; and I'm not sure about the universe"   Albert Einstein
  • PBandJ
    PBandJ Posts: 92
    Options
    Home Depot has a better selection than Lowes.
    Woodbridge, Va.
  • Mickey
    Mickey Posts: 19,674
    Options
    Very nice people, FREE SHIPPING, lots of different woods. I've used the sugar maple for a lot of years. Those say chips but I order both chips and chunks. 

Salado TX & 30A  FL: Egg Family: 3 Large and a very well used Mini, added a Mini Max when they came out (I'm good for now). Plus a couple Pit Boss Pellet Smokers.   

• shtgunal3
    shtgunal3 Posts: 5,657
    Options
    I go outside and cut my own. :)