Welcome to the EGGhead Forum - a great place to visit and packed with tips and EGGspert advice! You can also join the conversation and get more information and amazing kamado recipes by following Big Green Egg to Experience our World of Flavor™ at:
Facebook  |  Twitter  |  Instagram  |  Pinterest  |  Youtube  |  Vimeo
Share your photos by tagging us and using the hashtag #BigGreenEgg.

Want to see how the EGG is made? Click to Watch

How much charcola/wood chunks

TXSamIam
TXSamIam Posts: 32
edited March 2017 in EggHead Forum
I am a BGE rookie.  I bought my first BGE (an XL) 2 weeks ago and so far I love it.  I have been playing with it the past 2 weeks doing pizzas, steaks, burgers, beer can chicken and a few other things. This weekend I am doing my first serious smoke.  I have a 14.5 lb brisket, 4 racks of ribs, jalapeno cheddar sausage, and candied bacon burnt ends.  My brisket needs to go on around midnight on Friday in order to cook to temp and have a couple hour rest before serving.  How much lump and wood chunks do I put in to keep it going all night at 225-250 degrees?

I am an experienced BBQer, I have been smoking in a smoker with an offset fire box using logs for fuel fo 20+ years but the BGE is new to me. 

Comments

• Carolina Q
    Carolina Q Posts: 14,831
    Welcome to the nuthouse.=) For a lo n slow, always just load up the egg with lump. Up to the top, or near the top, of the fire ring. That will give you more than enough and when you shut down after the cook, any unburned lump will be available for your next cook.

How much lump is used depends in part on the cooking temp and the brand of lump you're using. Some seem to last longer than others, but any will last long enough for this cook. Here's an old pic of an 18 hour cook on my large using Wicked Good Weekend Warrior lump...

As for smoke wood, I just throw 3-4 fist sized chunks in there, mixed in with the lump. Sometimes, I don't use any.