Welcome to the EGGhead Forum - a great place to visit and packed with tips and EGGspert advice! You can also join the conversation and get more information and amazing kamado recipes by following Big Green Egg to Experience our World of Flavor™ at:
Facebook  |  Twitter  |  Instagram  |  Pinterest  |  Youtube  |  Vimeo
Share your photos by tagging us and using the hashtag #BigGreenEgg.

Want to see how the EGG is made? Click to Watch

3.75 lb Pork Roast

Options
UncleBilly
UncleBilly Posts: 225
I'm looking to smoke a 3.75 lb pork roast on my XL Egg tomorrow.  This is your basic pork roast, not a pork shoulder.  My goal is to slice and serve rather than pull/shred the final product.  Any advice on how much time I should budget for this cook? 

Also,  this will be my first low & slow cook on an Egg.  I've been running a Weber Smokey Mountain for several years and am comfortable with cooking ribs, brisket, poultry, etc. on that, but even on that one I've never done a pork roast.  

Should I plan to use my Maverick thermometer to monitor the grate temp and the meat temp, or can I skip the probe on the grate and use the dome temperature gauge to monitor the temp of the cooker?

I am shooting for the roast to reach 135-145 degrees.  

Thanks for for the help!  I'll try to post some updates as things proceed tomorrow.
XL  Central Ohio

Comments

• GregW
    GregW Posts: 2,677
    Options
    You won't go wrong monitoring the temp's.
  • Cookinbob
    Cookinbob Posts: 1,691
    Options
    I've done this cook a few times.  At 350 it will be 75-90 minutes is my guess, but I use a maverick and cook to temp.  Ruhlman has a good spicy rub for a loin roast like this.
    XLBGE, Small BGE, Homebrew and Guitars
    Rochester, NY
  • lousubcap
    lousubcap Posts: 32,375
    Options
    Here's a link to a great recipe for a pork loin (don't know if that is the same as a pork roast) cook: