Welcome to the EGGhead Forum - a great place to visit and packed with tips and EGGspert advice! You can also join the conversation and get more information and amazing kamado recipes by following Big Green Egg to Experience our World of Flavor™ at:
Facebook  |  Twitter  |  Instagram  |  Pinterest  |  Youtube  |  Vimeo
Share your photos by tagging us and using the hashtag #BigGreenEgg.

Want to see how the EGG is made? Click to Watch

Brisket finished 5hrs early - what are my options?

Options
I cooked an 18# brisket @ 275 and way overestimated the time needed (per the Pit Pal chart it never hit a stall overnight). Can I FTC for 5 hrs or put in fridge after a rest?

Thank you!
Basking  Ridge, NJ - XL with KAB

Comments

• Wardster
    Wardster Posts: 1,006
    Options
    I'm not a brisket expert, but I've FTC'd butts for about that long and they were piping hot.  A butt is more forgiving though.  Hang in there, someone will chime in.
    Apollo Beach, FL
  • dlk7
    dlk7 Posts: 1,053
    Options
    I let mine rest for 20 minutes and then wrap in foil, wrap in towels, and put in cooler (FTC)  Have held temp for 8 hours with now issues.

Two XL BGEs - So Happy!!!!

Waunakee, WI

• Wardster
    Wardster Posts: 1,006
    Options
    ;) told ya!
    Apollo Beach, FL
  • dlk7
    dlk7 Posts: 1,053
    Options
    Sorry - no issues not now issues.

Two XL BGEs - So Happy!!!!

Waunakee, WI

• lousubcap
    lousubcap Posts: 32,337
    edited July 2016
    Options
    As above you are just fine.  What follows is a process I use to get at least 8 hours out of a FTC (no comment on why the extended requirement...friggin cow:)) .  Pre-warm your cooler (I use an el cheapo Igloo) with hot water.  Heat some garage quality towels in the dryer.  Double wrap the target meat in HDAF and the towels, into the cooler and place in the sun.  You are good to go.  
    Edit:  let rest before the FTC.