Welcome to the EGGhead Forum - a great place to visit and packed with tips and EGGspert advice! You can also join the conversation and get more information and amazing kamado recipes by following Big Green Egg to Experience our World of Flavor™ at:
Facebook  |  Twitter  |  Instagram  |  Pinterest  |  Youtube  |  Vimeo
Share your photos by tagging us and using the hashtag #BigGreenEgg.

Want to see how the EGG is made? Click to Watch

Slow Roast Lamb Shoulder - didn't work as expected

Options

Hi

I am new to Pit cooking, but would normally cook a lamb shoulder in the oven at a low (130C/260F) for 4 or so hours.  It would normally come out meltingling soft ("pulled lamb") and carveable with a spoon.  I wouldn't normally use a thermometer to measure interior of meat, it always unfailingly works.

I tried to replicate in the Pit.  Went for temperature of 130C/260F.  Indirect. I read on a website to stop cooking when the internal temperature got to 78 C/170F. 

This took around 4 hours to get to that temperature so thought - all good!

However, it wasn't soft.  Perfectly edible (indeed, tasty), but needed to be sliced with a knife and didn't "pull".  so not quite what I wanted.

Any ideas why not?  I could have carried on but though the internal temp would get hotter and hotter and meat would dry out.

What would have happened if I had continued for another hour or so?

Thanks in advance from an Egg novice.

TMOTB

Comments

• lousubcap
    lousubcap Posts: 32,378
    Options
    Never have cooked that protein, but given what you describe, I'm guessing you declared victory too soon.  The texture you described (pulled lamb) gets that way after a complete rendering of all the fat and connective tissue.  Not sure how fatty the meat was going in so I could be way off-base here.  
    But to get pulled pork or beef you have to cook until they probe like buttah, normally in the low 200's*F. FWIW-