Welcome to the EGGhead Forum - a great place to visit and packed with tips and EGGspert advice! You can also join the conversation and get more information and amazing kamado recipes by following Big Green Egg to Experience our World of Flavor™ at:
Facebook  |  Twitter  |  Instagram  |  Pinterest  |  Youtube  |  Vimeo
Share your photos by tagging us and using the hashtag #BigGreenEgg.

Want to see how the EGG is made? Click to Watch

Smoked Chicken Troubles

Options
I've been egging for a few years now and chicken halves or spatchcock has always been one of my favorite things to do.  One thing I've had a bit of trouble doing is getting the fall off the bone smoked chicken like I get at some local BBQ joints.  Every bit of chicken I do is tender and juicy but not fall off the bone.  I usually go indirect at about 375 until b the breast hits 160 and the thigh hits 190 for smoked or direct when doing a spatchcock.  Do I need o go a bit longer to render out more of the fat or would that just cause the breast to dry out?  Where am I going wrong with this method?

Tuscaloosa, Alabama

Comments

• Mickey
    Mickey Posts: 19,674
    Options
    Yes. Most of those places cook the crap out of it. Well over the 160. I am way happier with the start of your story than where you are going. 
    Salado TX & 30A  FL: Egg Family: 3 Large and a very well used Mini, added a Mini Max when they came out (I'm good for now). Plus a couple Pit Boss Pellet Smokers.   

• minniemoh
    minniemoh Posts: 2,145
    Options
    I just smoked a whole chicken with a few pieces of apricot wood on Saturday. Smoking is cooking it low n slow for me, like 250 degrees. If you want that soft, tender, fall-off-the-bone kind of texture, that's how I do it. Took about 3 1/2 hours for a 4.5# bird.